DIY Mini Sketchbook

DIY mini sketchbook

I have an obsession.

Every time I go to a craft store and see a pretty sketchbook, I buy it. Do you know how often I’m in a craft store? I’m not even going to tell you… It’s better for both of us.

Needless to say, I have a lot of sketchbooks. I know I’ll use them, so I don’t mind my collection. But I will only carry them around if they’re small. So, once in a while I’ll make mini sketchbooks out of them so that I can keep them in my purse.

This works best if you have a spiral ring sketchbook. I really like the Strathmore books, but you can use whatever you like.

mini sketchbook materials

Things You Will Need:
Ruler
Cutting mat
Sketchbook
Exacto knife
Stapler or thread and needle
Heavy stock Scrapbook paper

sketchbook preparation

sketchbook pages

Step 1
Cut your paper out of the larger sketchbook.

folding sketchbook pages

folded sketchbook pages

Step 2
Separate the pages into even sections and fold them in half like in the images above.

DIY sketchbook cover

Step 3
Measure the size of your soon-to-be-sketchbook and cut a piece of scrapbook paper to fit those measurements.

Fold it down the center and place one of your folded sketchbook paper sections inside of it.

sew pages

Step 4
Using thread and a needle or a stapler, connect the cover to the pages.

I used thread and sewed the whole way up the spine of the book.

DIY mini sketchbook

When you’re finished, you’ll have some cute sketchbooks to carry around with you for when ideas strike (or when you’re bored).

You can use the scrapbook paper cover or even use some cardboard from old cereal boxes and draw on them. Personalizing your sketchbook is always more fun!

Hope you guys enjoyed this one!! Happy crafting!

8 thoughts on “DIY Mini Sketchbook

    • Thank you sooooo much, Emory! That’s very sweet of you 😄 I’m heading over to check yours out right now!

  1. I have the same problem with notebooks. I went crazy at the cute stationery stores in China and bought these gorgeous hardback, gold-dipped notebooks where every single page was a different design and color. I take them out from time to time just to stare at how pretty they are ;).

    • Oh, yeah, I could see how the spiral notebooks could get annoying for you. Definitely give this a shot. The sewn sketchbooks are my favorite as well. 🙂 Let me know how this works for you! I’d love to see pictures if you make them.

Leave a Reply

