The power of saying “Thank You”

In this post, John makes some great points about why it’s beneficial to send someone a hand-written thank you.

The Prothero Press

2014-02-22 08.33.21 Recently we had to take one of our pets into the veterinarian.   It was our first visit to this particular veterinarian, and from what my wife tells me, it wasn’t any different than visits we’ve made to other veterinarians.  But then in yesterday’s mail we received a hand-written card from this new veterinarian, expressing how they looked forward to providing more care, and suggesting that we call if we had any other needs for our pets.  Basically, a follow up “thank you” card.  I looked at this and realized that sending hand-written cards, both as introductions and as follow ups, is still a viable way to communicate with the prospect or client, and also much more personal than emails.

THE CARD AS AN INTRO

I frequently write about or share posts about direct mail and how it still has the power to grab the attention of the recipient.  At…

View original post 573 more words

5 thoughts on “The power of saying “Thank You”

  1. This is so ironic. I’ve recently gone to see two new doctors myself (no worries, I’m okay). I thought nothing of it. Then in the mail, on two separate occasions, I got thank yous from both doctors. Granted, one was a typed letter and the other a printed thank you card. However, the fact that they sent something to me snail mail was very impressive, and defintely boosted my already good opinion of them.

    Please and thank you can definitely be overused, but right now, they’re not used enough. We need more please and thank you. Thanks for posting this!

    • That Israeli awesome that they sent those. Isn’t it sad that thank you is what makes people stand out? 😦 thanks for coming!

      • Or when it’s abused? When someone just keeps saying “please and thank you” without caring? Reminds me of the movie Patch Adams with Robin Williams. They’re in a hospital and the doctor is telling them about the patient, but not talking to her and it’s very sterile. Patch asks the doctor her name, and he just says “Hi, Pam”, and Pam says hi back. She’s so glad just to have someone acknowledge her.

      • Yeah, that too. Too much of anything is bad thing. I’ve never seen that movie, but I will put it on my list. I’ve heard Robin Williams is awesome in it.

      • It’s got some happy and sad parts, but Robin Williams is fantastic. The please and thank you reminds me of tips on your phone voice. That people can hear a smile over the phone. I know I try to get the person’s name so I can thank them. Seems nicer that way.

Leave a Reply

