Holiday Gift Ideas 2013

Its about that time again! Christmas is about a month away and people are starting to look for gifts to buy for friends and family. Like many of you, I like to save money, so I use my crafty ability to make gifts when I can.

I’ve gone through my list of DIYs in the past two years and have compiled my favorite tutorials for some great gift ideas for the holidays. Let me know what you think!

DIY Gift Card Holder

DIY Gift Card HolderHow many gift cards do you buy around the holidays? I buy quite a few. And the designs are usually pretty wretched, so I made my own.

DIY Purse From A Scarf

DIY Knotty Purse

If you have a friend who likes scarves, this is a great gift. Find a scarf that is square, with a cute pattern. Add a gift tag with a link to my tutorial (or just show her how to make the purse) and she will thank you. 2 gifts in 1!

DIY Bookmarks

group2

I love these bookmarks. It is one of my favorite tutorials as well. All you need are some paper clips, patterned paper or fabric and some diamond glaze. Oh, and a few hours of waiting time.

DIY Coasters

IMG_5314

I know this is a common DIY gift on many craft blogs, but it is always a good one. Believe me, you can make better coasters than you will find anywhere else.

wedding gift photo coasters

You can also make photo coasters for a more sentimental gift. If you know a couple who have just gotten married, or just had a baby, and you can get ahold of those pictures, these are awesome gifts!

DIY Glitter Pendant

DIY Glitter Pendant via Make Something Mondays

This is a quick and easy DIY craft. It is a great last-minute gift as well.

DIY Missing Sock Station

missing socks

I know this is a weird gift idea. Honestly though, this is the most useful DIY project I have ever made. I use it ALL the time. If someone would have made this for me before I thought of it, I would’ve been thrilled! So, if you know someone who has everything, this is probably that something they don’t have.

DIY Redneck Wine Glasses

DIY Redneck Wine Glasses | Make Something Mondays

Don’t judge. People LOVE these. AND they are so easy to make. You need a jar, a candlestick holder, and some waterproof glue. You can also turn these into cute “baskets”. You’ve seen the hot chocolate kits and the manicure sets that people give. There are plenty of others on Pinerest as well, if you need some inspiration. Just remember, you want them to be able to use these jars for their wine! Or beer. Whatever.

If these aren’t enough and you need some more DIY ideas, feel free to search my site. Do a search for DIY or check out my Pinterest board Craft Projects with Tutorials.

If you have more ideas, please feel free to post them in the comments! Readers will thank you 🙂 And I thank you, in advance.

9 thoughts on “Holiday Gift Ideas 2013

    • Thanks Marie! Let me know if you try any of them 🙂 I’d love to hear how they turn out for you and how your recipient liked them.

  1. Brilliant ideas, that lost socks board I wish I had when was co-habiting, loved when you posted it the first time and the same with the scarves bag. Wish you a great week.

    • Thanks Viveka! It is still useful if you live alone. I swear the washer/dryer eats my socks or something. This board is the only thing that has ever allowed me to have matching socks. It ridiculous!

      Glad you like the scarf bag as well. It is so easy to make.

      I wish you a fantastic week as well 🙂

    • Thanks! I’m glad you like them. They are super easy to make but I would let them dry overnight. I hope you have fun with them!

  2. Pingback: A DIY Gift Guide For Friends and Family: Part 2 | Everything Is a Journey

Leave a Reply

