WordPress.com or Wordress.org

Hello! I’ve got a question for those of you who own your WordPress blogs. I want to know if it is worth it?

I’ve been thinking about buying my domain and managing my own site but I am up in the air about it. I don’t typically have a lot of down time so I’m worried that if I owned my site that it would take up much more time to manage it. Is that true?

Also, is it difficult to manage? How much coding do I really need to know if any at all?

I don’t want you to think I haven’t done my homework, because I have. But hosting sites are definitely going to tell me that is it soooooo easy to own my blog and manage it. I want to hear it from those of you who have managed your own blogs for a while.

Any insight you could give me would be much appreciated! Thank you, in advance, for your responses. 😀

13 thoughts on “WordPress.com or Wordress.org

  1. I just switched my blog to a self hosted one on wordpress.org I love being in control of it, but I didn’t realize that I would lose all of my wordpress.com followers. I installed jet pack (I would recommend installing that ) and I think that makes it so my email followers still get my posts. My biggest regret is that I didn’t tell my followers that I was moving to self hosted. I would let your followers know in advance so they know where to find you. Good luck!

  2. Megan,
    As rayandskye stated, Jetpack is a must if you are going to migrate to a server, and manage your domain. You will also have to pay some monthly fees…

    Did you know that even if you stay on WordPress.com, you can modify a template? You could purchase the Custom Design upgrade and play with the CSS, provided you know a bit of coding… But it does allow you to create something that fits your needs, without having to migrate to WordPress.org.
    Eric

  3. ive thought about this before as ive changed my theme many times but there is always something i want to tweak but cant, plus im not sure if it would be easier to organise my images as i have loads. when i changed my blog name last year i lost all followers and didnt realise and its taking a while for my stats to get back to where they were and for google to find me again which has put me off going self hosted.

  4. Pingback: 2010 in review: Thank you guys! « Fairy Godsister's Blog

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.